Open hearts

Recently there’s been a lot of hubbub at the Libby, Montana farmers market where I typically set up on Thursdays during the summer. It started a week ago when a Pride booth was there and despite having fifty to sixty other vendors to enjoy, that particular booth was thought objectionable by some individuals so there had to be meetings, discussions, and lots of noise on social media about it. It reminded me of The Araboolies of Liberty Street (a wonderful children’s book by Sam Swope). I wish I had an idea how to resolve the situation in Libby as easily as Joy, a character in Swope’s book, resolved the situation on Liberty Street. And in the same county as Libby but up the road a piece in Eureka, a teacher announced a Pride picnic in a local park on a June Saturday, and oh my was she surprised by the push back verging on threats, although thankfully a great crowd of supporters did show up to have a potluck, play games, and chat with neighbors.

I’m mystified because at the farmers market there are so many different booths – great produce, cotton candy, jewelry, fresh flowers, pizza, books, photographs, wind chimes, baked goods. If a booth doesn’t have something I am interested in, I amble by just as people walk pass my bookstore when it is set up there – although that too surprises me. I mean who can possibly walk past a bookstore and not be at least a little curious? But yes, people go by booths (or bookstores) that don’t interest them. So why does a booth with rainbow colored umbrellas and tie dyed shirts and all sorts of stickers spark outrage and complaints? I had the same question when I read an article in the local newspaper about negative responses to the picnic in Eureka. No one is forced to go to that picnic. There are many other offerings on a summer Saturday in northwest Montana. Go to a garage sale or watch the kids play baseball or go on a hike or arrange your own picnic.

I do appreciate those individuals who are also puzzled by the negative comments and action at the market or at other places in our community, those who see value in participating in events like the picnic, writing letters to the editor, and talking to the board of the farmers market. We can be wolverine tough! Because taking a step back, trying to ignore the situation, thinking because you aren’t part of a group being marginalized means you don’t have to be involved isn’t really an answer. You can work to make our community better. You have to. Be like Joy in the The Araboolies of Liberty Street.

Leave a comment